About DextrinUnless you know the source, you must avoid dextrin if you are allergic to corn, wheat, and/or gluten.
It is an incompletely hydrolyzed starch that is created from carbohydrates and is used in many, many applications.
Dextrins can be made from the following ingredients:
It can be created by dry heating or through the treatment of safe and suitable alkalis, acids, or pH control agents. It can also be made by drying the acid or alkali treated starch.